President Muhammadu Buhari decorates CIoTA President with the award of OFR.

The President of the Chartered Institute of Transport Administration (CIoTA) who is also the Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) Dr Bashir Jamoh receives a National Honours award of the rank of Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR).

The formal investiture ceremony took place at the international Conference Centre (ICC), Abuja on Tuesday, 11th October, 2022 with a grand reception at the luxury Hilton Hotel Abuja.

Members of the Institute who joined their numbers for the celebration were excited with this elevation for the man who sits at the helm of the affairs.

Speaking at the event, the President commended the national awards committee, headed by Justice Sidi Bage Muhammad, a retired justice of the Supreme Court and Emir of Lafia, for his patriotic duty by diligently going through over 5,000 submissions and coming up with the recommendations.

President Buhari noted that the screening and selection of nominees for this year’s award followed established broad criteria, in accordance with the National Honours Act CAP.N43 of the Laws of the Federation of Nigeria 2004.

They include but not limited to consistent and meaningful participation in community and/or national development; rendering unsolicited, selfless and philanthropic services to humanity; outstanding sacrifice in the defence of a cause popularly adjudged to be positive, relevant and beneficial to the nation and community.

Stakeholders who spoke at Dr. Jamoh's reception encouraged him to continue to distinguish himself in the service of the nation and humanity, saying that citizens who contribute to nation’s development deserve to be honoured and appreciated.

In a chat with the Institute's National Publicity Secretary Mrs. Chizoba Anyika, she said that "the very excited CIoTA President and NIMASA DG, Dr Bashir Jamoh has expressed his delight and excitement at the award".  In his words,

*Alhamdulillah. It is indeed a great honour to be decorated with the national award of the Officer of the Order of the Niger (OFR) by Mr President @MBuhari" 

"I shall continue to do my best in the service to the nation". 

"Thanks to my family, colleagues, friends and maritime industry and entire transport stakeholders"-Jamoh exclaims!

The Minister of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs, George Akume, said the national honours awards committee selected 447 awardees from 5,000 nominees submitted for consideration.

Six recipients were awarded Grand Commanders of the Order of the Niger (GCON), 55 Commanders of the Order of the Federal Republic (CFR), 74 Members of the Order of the Federal Republic (MFR), 77 Officers of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR).

Others were 110 Officers of the Order of the Niger (OON), 55 Members of the Order of the Niger (MON), 65 Commanders of the Order of the Niger (CON), Four Federal Republic Medal – First Class (FRM I) and Four Federal Republic Medal – Second Class (FRM II).

Post a Comment